Latest News

November 28, 2021
The IAC board met in Oshkosh on November 12 and 13 for its annual fall meeting. President Jim Bourke led the meeting which was orderly, cordial and polite with all members working toward the best outcome for the sport of aerobatics and the IAC membership. With many items to work through and new board members attending in person for the first time, professional Parliamentarian Deborah Underwood led the group through an overview of the parliamentary process and rules of deb
(read more)

November 22, 2021

In his Sequence Committee report for the Fall Board meeting, Chair Michael Lents requested the board select a new Sequence Committee Chair. Because of his own workload and coaching schedule, he finds that he does not have the time required to administer the program. Michael is very willing to train his successor and is currently involved with compiling comments from the IAC membership on the proposed 2022 Knowns.

With the upcoming vacancy quickly coming into sight, IAC president Jim Bourke appointed Mike Ciliberti on an interim basis. At the Fall Board meeting Mike Ciliberti was...

(read more)

November 19, 2021

Congratulations to IAC vice president and 10-time national aerobatic champion Rob Holland, who was announced this week as one of three new honorary members of the First Flight Society based at Kitty Hawk, N.C. The program highlights those who have achieved national recognition in aviation. Rob and other honorees will be recognized at the Wright brothers observance in Kitty Hawk next month.

(read more)

November 18, 2021

This year there were a total of 62 rule change proposals submitted by members.  The Rules Committee evaluated each toward how they would resolve the stated concern and if implemented what impacts would ensue to safety, competitor enjoyment, contest operations, member comments, etc.  Of the 62, 33 changes were recommended by the committee for adoption.  Specific rule book text changes were then developed for each.  

On November 13 the IAC Board of Directors reviewed all 62 items and the recommendations, approving 20 for inclusion into the 2022 IAC Contest Rules.  


(read more)

November 10, 2021

Looking for aerobatic related articles? "In the Loop" is IAC's monthly e-newsletter. You will see links to regular "Sport Aerobatics" articles and ITL Exclusive Content.

In the November issue of the IAC's e-newsletter you will find links to the upcoming (Thursday November 11)...

(read more)

November 5, 2021

It is with great sadness that IAC chapter 89 Ocala, Florida shared the news of Kevin S. Campbell’s (IAC 24702) passing.  “Sadly, Kevin has succumbed to his illness and passed away Friday morning (October 29) at home. His wife Tangie was with him and he wasn’t in pain.

As president of chapter 89, Kevin was the driving force behind several safe, successful and fun Snowbird Classic contests. His larger than life personality was a force to be reckoned with. He was a loyal friend and would help in any way he could. He will be greatly missed.

... (read more)