Latest News

April 20, 2021

Updated news from Early Bird Contest Director David Prather: "Friday’s weather is forecast to prevent flying to the contest as well as contest flying. I am officially shifting the contest days to Saturday 24 April and Sunday 25 April.

Proposed agenda:
1000-1500 Box Marking
1000-1500 Early arrivals, Complete Box Marking, and practice for registered contestants
1800 Contest Director available for registration
0800-1200 Registration and Practice
1200-1300 Brief...

(read more)

April 19, 2021

The 2021 contest season is coming back in full force! 28 contests has been scheduled and recently two more were added to the contest calendar - Super D Tango and SoCal Surprise bringing the total scheduled contests up to 30.

IAC chapter 24 has confirmed the Super D Tango is scheduled to continue with their tradition of a one-day contest in Akroville, Texas on Saturday, July 10th. This is a one-type of airplane, one category contest where no one has any airplane or category advantage over another!  It truly lets all pilots compete against each other on a level playing field!   It...

(read more)

April 14, 2021

In an interview with NEWS12 KXII Studios in Sherman, Texas, IAC member David Valear said, "We do a practice day once a month (at the North Texas Regional Airport in Sherman) all of us are competitive aerobatic pilots and we are coaching each other to help become the very best we can be at aerobatics." See the full article at: International Aerobatic Club practicing for regional competition in May (

The next contest up for David will be the Early Bird in...

(read more)

April 12, 2021

Director/Officer Nominations Sought

Hello, IAC members, it is time to nominate our 2021 slate of officers and directors. Nominating petitions are due THIS FRIDAY, April 16. Voting will be done electronically on the IAC website, beginning June 30. Voting ends on July 27; results will be announced. New officers and directors will be installed at the close of the IAC Annual Membership Meeting at AirVenture in Oshkosh on July 30, 2021.

Positions to be filled are Vice President, Treasurer, and four Directors. Directors are elected "at large", not...

(read more)
File Attachment(s):

April 12, 2021

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has granted IAC’s petition to extend Exemption No. 10159D.  The fuel exemption, from §§ 91.9(b) and 91.151(a)(1) of Title 14, Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR), allows IAC members to carry less than the visual flight rules (VFR) fuel requirements under certain conditions and be exempted from carrying the aircraft flight manual during aerobatic competition and aerobatic practice flights.

Read the full exemption: 

(read more)

April 9, 2021


Oshkosh, Wisconsin – April 9, 2021:  National Aerobatics Day will debut on Saturday, June 26 as announced by Jim Bourke, President of the International Aerobatics Club (IAC) in March. Since that time many aviation leaders have expressed much enthusiasm for the new celebratory day.

“Aerobatics is another way to improve your overall stick and rudder skills. It is a natural extension to upset training that is often encouraged by plane manufactures and insurance companies,” said Jack J. Pelton, EAA Chairman and CEO.

“When I got my private...

(read more)