Latest News

February 9, 2009

After months of searching, IAC has hired Patricia (Trish) Deimer of Omro, Wisconsin to be the IAC Manager, taking the place of Lisa Popp in the Oshkosh office, who has been part-time with IAC since October. Trish will begin working for IAC on February 16th. She was formerly the National Association of Flight Instructors (NAFI) Program Manager. Trish is part owner of a clipped-wing cub and is working toward her Private Pilot Certificate. She will introduce herself in an upcoming issue of Sport Aerobatics and will be at Sun 'n Fun. IAC welcomes Trish to the club and we look forward to...

(read more)

February 5, 2009

The University of North Dakota will become the recipient of the 2008 Collegiate Program Traveling Team Trophy, which found its home at Southern Illinois University for the last two years. Congratulations also go out to Charlie Wilkinson of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Daytona Beach for his first place win in the individual category.

Team rankings were as follows: 1) University of North Dakota with 86.74%, 2) Embry Riddle -Daytona Beach with 83.10%, and 3) United States Air Force Academy with 82.23%. Qualified...

(read more)

February 4, 2009

Aresti Systems of Spain has announced the availability of the 2009 Aresti System Aerobatic Catalogs in Power and Glider versions. This year introduces a new, less expensive version of the catalog that is good for the 2009 year only. This catalog, referred to as the Anticrisis Catalog, and is available for $20. The Traditional Catalog is the notebook-style version, in which the pages are replaceable each year with revisions provided by Aresti Systems. The 2009 Traditional Catalog is available for $57 and the 2009 update for the Traditional Version only is $10 (...

(read more)

October 2, 2008

The IAC Board of Directors has elected Doug Sowder, of Spokane, Washington, as the interim Director to fill the vacancy left by the untimely death of Erica Simpson. Doug will represent the Northwest Region, with Robert Armstrong being named as the Southwest Regional representative. Doug was previously on the IAC Board for a one-year term from 2005 to 2006. He is an Advanced competitor who was also a volunteer, and aircraft renter, at the 2008 Advanced World Championships in Pendleton, Oregon. When not flying, Doug is a ski-lift engineer in the Spokane area....

September 30, 2008

The members of the 2008 US Unlimited Aerobatic Team who will compete at the 2009 World Aerobatic Championships to be held in the United Kingdom August 18-30, 2009 are Robert Armstrong, Jeff Boerboon, Dan Clark, Vicki Cruse, David Martin, Allyson Parker-Lauck, Michael Racy, Debby Rihn-Harvey, and Hubie Tolson. Zach Heffley is the alternate.

September 11, 2008

Scholarship fund established for fallen pilot, IAC Director

Funeral services for Erica Simpson, IAC director and commercial pilot, will be held Saturday, September 13, in her hometown of Port Wing, Wisconsin. Simpson, 32, died September 6 in an aircraft accident during a practice flight at Reno’s Stead Field where she was preparing to compete...

(read more)