IAC Championships/Championships of the Americas Awards

COTA trophy

For over 30 years, the IAC hosted two championship events - the IAC Championships, held in Fond du Lac, WI and the U.S. National Aerobatic Championships, held in Denison, TX. By Board action in the spring of 2001, the IAC Board of Directors made the decision to discontinue the IAC Championships and culminate the calendar year with one national championship - the U.S. National Aerobatic Championships. The master trophies awarded at the IAC Championships remain on display at the IAC pavilion in Oshkosh, WI.



Special Medallions

Gold, silver and bronze medallions are awarded to first, second, and third place winners of each category of flight flown at IAC Championship events.

Chapter Team Trophy

The trophy is presented in accordance with "IAC Official Contest Rules". Currently, those rules call for the trophy to be awarded the Chapter who's top three (3) members, regardless of category, achieve the highest average score, in terms of percentage of points possible. That percentage is based on all flight programs in that category. In the event of a tie, those Chapters' next highest placing competitor's scores will be used. details


Elroy French Memorial Trophy

Conceived and donated by the South African Aerobatic Club. The trophy is named after a South African aerobatic pilot who lost his life shortly after flying at Fond du Lac, WI, the site of the IAC Championships in the early 1980's. The trophy is presented to the highest placing pilot, regardless of category, who is not a U. S. citizen or resident. It is presented only at the IAC Championships. details


Harold Krier Cup

Presented to the winner of the powered Unlimited category at the IAC Championships. The award is named after veteran aerobatic pilot Harold Krier of Ashland, Kansas who was the 1968 U. S. National Aerobatic Champion and a U. S. Aerobatic Team member. He lost his life in 1971. details


Keith Allan Memorial Trophy

Awarded to the first place winner of the Four Minute Free Program in the Unlimited category at the IAC Championships. The trophy was conceived by Mrs. Carol Allan. Her husband, Keith Allan, was killed in an accident in his Pitts in 1981. He was flying in Unlimited category at the time. Keith had begun his contest career in 1973 and was a member of IAC Chapter 24 in Dallas/Ft. Worth. One of his favorite flight programs was the Four Minute Free. details


Fond du Lac cup

Conceived and donated by the Fond du Lac Convention & Visitors Bureau, Fond du Lac, Wisconsin. Presented to the winner of the Fond du Lac Cup invitation competition held during the opening ceremonies of the IAC Championships in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin.  details.


Pitts Aerobatics Trophies

Awarded to the first place winners of the Sportsman, Intermediate, Advanced, and Unlimited categories at the IAC Championships. These awards were conceived by Carl F. Bury and donated by Aviat Aircraft of Afton, Wyoming. details

(trophy given to the individual winners)


Pitts Cup

The award was conceived by Carl F. Bury and donated by Aviat Aircraft of Afton, Wyoming. Presented to the pilot at the IAC Championships who scores the highest percentage of possible points during a calendar year. It is open to all categories. details

(Master Trophy)