Elroy French Memorial Trophy

Elroy French Memorial Trophy – Retired Trophy



Conceived and donated by the South African Aerobatic Club. The trophy is named after a South African aerobatic pilot who lost his life shortly after flying at Fond du Lac in the early 1980's.


The trophy is presented to the highest placing pilot, regardless of category, who is not a U.S. citizen or resident.


Recipient trophies are funded by IAC and consist of a plaque. The master plaque remains on display at the IAC Pavilion in Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

Elroy French Memorial Tophy - Chronology of Recipients


1985 - Gerry Younger (Canada)

1986 - Not Awarded

1987 - Kerry Cornelius (Canada)

1988 - Pat Cruchley (Canada)

1989 - Royden Heays (Canada)

1990 - Not Awarded

1991 - Nikolai Timofeev (USSR)

1992 - Jerzy Makula (Poland)

1993 - Alejandro Sardi (Venezuela)

1994 - Eon DeVos (South Africa)

1995 - Rudy Penteado (Brazil)

1996 - Dagmar Kress (Germany)

1997 - Luisa Romero (Mexico)

1998 - Pat Cruchley (Canada)

1999 - Alexandre Krotov (Russia)

2000- Simone Kaern

2001  Suspended by the IAC BOD in March 2001, formally Retired in a ceremony at Airventure 2001.