Harold Krier Cup

The award was conceived and donated by the Aerobatic Club of America. It was turned over to IAC when our organization took over responsibility for administering the sport of aerobatics in 1982. The award was presented at the Nationals from 1971 to 1983 to the U. S. National Aerobatic Champion. The award is named after veteran aerobatic pilot Harold Krier of Ashland, Kansas who was the 1968 U. S. National Aerobatic Champion and a U. S. Aerobatic Team member. He lost his life in 1971.

Presented to the winner of the powered Unlimited category at the IAC Championships.

A laser cut plaque is ordered by the Executive Director along with the other trophies. No name is inscribed.

Recipient trophies are funded by IAC and consist of a laser cut plaque with a photograph of the permanent trophy set in the plaque. The master trophy remains on display at the IAC Pavilion in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The plaque is presented at the IAC Championships annual awards banquet each year.

​This trophy was retired in 2001.







1971 Gene Soucy

1981 Leo Loudenslager

1991 Peter Anderson

1972 Gene Soucy

1982 Leo Loudenslager

1992 Linda Meyers

1973 Tom Poberezny

1983 Kermit Weeks

1993 Patty Wagstaff

1974 Art Scholl

1984 Clint McHenry(*)

1994 Matt Chapman

1975 Leo Loudenslager

1985 Henry Haigh

1995 Phillip Knight

1976 Leo Loudenslager

1986 Mike Stauter

1996 Eric Haagenson

1977 Leo Loudenslager

1987 Harold Chappell

1997 Kirby Chambliss

1978 Leo Loudenslager

1988 Earle Andrews

1998 Robert Armstrong

1979 Henry Haigh

1989 Mike Anderson

1999 David Martin

1980 Leo Loudenslager

1990 Rick Massegee

2000 Tom Wade

(*) First year presented at Fond du Lac