2021 L Paul Soucy Trophy Winner Announced

The 2021 Winner of the L. Paul Soucy Trophy is Michael Hoy of Oshkosh, Wisconsin.  

The purpose of the L. Paul Soucy Trophy is to recognize the pilot who achieves the highest scoring percentage at three or more contests during a contest season (best scores averaged together). To qualify, one of those contests must be the U.S. National Aerobatic Championships.

Michael has been an IAC member since 1996. He did well in competition through 2013 and then took a calculated break. Between 2013 and this current contest season he spent seven years productively building his beautiful Monosport 360 that became his ride to the top. The plane's paint job is in homage to the great Leo Loudenslager's Laser 200.  Michael's craftsmanship was recognized at the 2021 EAA AirVenture with a plaque from the Homebuilt awards for Plans Outstanding Workmanship.

He flew one contest in 2020 when he had finished the plane. This year he came back to fly three contests in the Mid-America Region (placing first in Sportsman for the Regional Series), three contests in the South Central Region (also Placing first in Sportsman for the regional series) and at the 2021 U.S. National Aerobatic Championships he came away as the U.S. National Aerobatic Sportsman Champion!

During the 2021 contest season flying in the six regional contests Michael scored between 74.71% at the Lone Star to his highest score of 88.18% at the Doug Yost Challenge finishing the season with an average of 87.50% to clinch the L Paul Soucy Trophy. 

Congratulations to Michael Hoy on his accomplishments!