Regional Championship Series Information

At the March 2002 Board of Directors meeting, an IAC Regional Championship Series format was officially approved. The series format will award competitors that perform with the highest consistent scores throughout the season.

Get the latest standings on the current season here: 

IAC Policy & Procedures Manual Section 226 describes procedures for the Regional Series. 

The Regional Championship Series rules, briefly, are as follows:

  1. The six regions are the same as used to assign regional representatives of the IAC Board of Directors. They are:

    • Mid-America – ND, SD, MN, IA, WI, IL, MI, IN, OH, KY
    • Northeast – ME, VT, NH, NY, PA, MA, CT, RI, NJ, MD, DE, WV, VA, NC
    • Northwest – WA, OR, ID, MT, WY
    • South Central – NE, CO, KS, MO, NM, OK, TX, AR, LA
    • Southeast – TN, SC, MS, AL, GA, FL
    • Southwest – CA, NV, UT, AZ

  2. Contests in a region’s series are based upon the location of the contest, not the home location of the pilot.
  3. A series will consist of 3 contests minimum. Canadian contests are included on request of the organizers, and assigned a region based on consultation with them. The Nationals serves as a wild-card contest for each and every region in which a competitor participates.
  4. The average of the best 3 contests flown in the region will be used. If a participant flies more than three, their highest scores will be used to arrive at their total percentage. This format enables pilots to improve their score by attending more contests and encourages participation at more contests.
  5. The IAC will award first, second, and third place titles in all categories in each region. Titles given will identify the series champion in each respective region – Mid-America Regional Series Champion, South West Regional Series Champion, North East Regional Series Champion, etc.