Les Horvath

Conceived and donated by Bob Kupps, of California (a member of the 1989 U.S. Glider Team), in honor of Les Horvath. Les Horvath of Arizona was a former member of the U. S. Glider Aerobatic Team and a pioneer in glider aerobatics in the United States. The trophy was first presented by the Sailplane Aerobatics Association and was donated to the IAC when the SAA merged with the IAC.

Up until 1992, the trophy was presented to the winner of the Unknown program (of any category in terms of percentage of possible points achieved) at the U. S. National Glider Aerobatic Championships. In that year, the IAC Board of Directors elected to present the trophy to the winner of the Unlimited category at the U. S. National Glider Aerobatic Championships and the holder of the title of U. S. National Glider Aerobatic Champion.

The name of the recipient is provided the Contest Director by the Scoring Director after the contest is completed. The recipient's plaque is ordered by the Executive Director along with the other trophies for the Glider Nationals. No name is inscribed.

Recipient trophies are funded by the IAC and consist of a laser cut plaque with a photograph of the permanent trophy set in the plaque. The master trophy remains on display at the IAC pavilion in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The plaque is presented at the U. S. National Glider Aerobatic Championships annual awards banquet.

Notes: Records are not available for the years preceding the IAC's assuming control of the U. S. National Glider Aerobatic Championships. Therefore, only the winners for 1992 and after are included.


1992 - Charles Kalko
1993 - Steve Coan
1994 - Gary Gillmore
1995 - Ken Hadden
1996 - Ken Hadden
1997 - Ken Hadden
1998 - Bill Lumley
1999 - John Lumley
2000 - Kim Reniska
2001 - John Lumley
2002 - John Lumley
2003 - Charles Kalko
2004 - N/A

2005 – N/A
2006 – Jason Stephens
2007 – Jason Stephens
2008 – Jason Stephens
2009 – Paul Jennings
2010 – Not Flown
2011 – Not Flown
2012 - Jason Stephens
2013 - Jason Stephens
2014 - N/A
2015 - Eric Lentz-Gauthier
2016 - Eric Lentz-Gauthier