John Serafin


The trophy was conceived and donated by IAC members John Serafin and George Kulesza in 1992. The award was first presented in 1997.


The trophy is presented to the winner of the Free program (of any category in terms of percentage of possible points achieved) at the U.S. National Glider Aerobatic Championships.


The name of the recipient is provided the Contest Director by the Scoring Director after the contest is completed. The recipient’s plaque is ordered by the Executive Director along with the other trophies for the Glider Nationals. No name is inscribed.


Recipient trophies are funded by IAC and consist of a laser cut plaque with a photograph of the permanent trophy set in the plaque. The master trophy remains on display at the IAC pavilion in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The plaque is presented at the U.S. National Glider Aerobatic Championships annual awards banquet.



1997 - Ken Hadden

1998 - Bill Lumley

1999 - Walter Parrasch

2000 - Bill Lumley

2001 - Not Flown

2002 - John Lumley

2003 - Charles Kalko

2004 – Clay Quinby

2005 – Scott Kotowski

2006 – Chris Ross

2007 – Jacob Allen


2008 – Paul Jennings

2009 – Michael Albert

2010 – Andrew Lamb

2011 – Nick Dona

2012 - Jason Stephens

2013 - Jason Stephens

2014 - Steel Shoaf

2015 - Douglas Clark

2016 - Trevor Rogers

2017 - Nicholas Cottrell

2018 - Vincent Sabin