IAC 2016 Non-Flying Awards Announced

Each year, the membership of the IAC nominates outstanding volunteers to be recognized for their contribution to the sport of aerobatics. The award recipients are selected by a secret ballot of the IAC Board of Directors.

IAC President Mike Heuer will present the recipients with their awards at the IAC Gathering of Members on Friday evening, July 28th at the EAA Nature Center during AirVenture in Oshkosh.  In the past, these awards have been presented at the U.S. National Championships, but Oshkosh offers a venue that is unique and well attended. Recipients that are unable to attend on July 28th will receive their awards during the banquet at Nationals as in the past.


Frank Price Cup - Fred and Liza Weaver, Ocala, Florida

Fred and Liza Weaver are tireless supporters of IAC, and many of the southeast regional contests simply would not be successful without their time, energy, and mentorship. Fred is often found on the judging lines, as a Chief Judge for category after category, and Liza as registrar, often while helping train registrars and score keepers at the same time. During the off season, Liza can be found teaching judges school. Both Fred and Liza were on the judging line for the 2016 US Nationals. The dedication of Team Weaver to the ongoing success of IAC activities richly qualify them as the recipients of the award that recognizes individuals who contributed significantly to the sport of aerobatics in 2016. Fred has been a member of IAC since 1971 and Liza since 1981.


Harold E. Neumann Award for Outstanding Contribution as a Chief Judge - John Morrissey, Lee's Summit, Missouri

John joined IAC in 1975 and in the ensuing years has become a respected aerobatic coach and trainer, FAI and IAC National Judge, long-time judges school instructor, member of the Rules Committee, frequent contributor to Sports Aerobatics magazine and a Chief Judge who knows every aspect of the official IAC rules. The award recognizes John's contribution and reputation as a person known for his leadership qualities and fairness as a chief judge. John has also conducted training camps for beginning aerobatic pilots in addition to experienced competitors for many years. Over 150 pilots have attended his camps and have made their own marks in compeition as a result of his coaching. John was also a member of the 1997 FAI Gold Medal winning team at the World Advanced Aerobatic Championships in Lawrence, Kansas that year.

John (L) with IAC president Mike Heuer


Kathy Jaffe Volunteer Award - Bob Hart, McHenry, Illinois

Bob Hart has served as IAC Treasurer since 2010 as well as IAC's Finance Committee Chairman. During this time, IAC has gone through some difficult financial times and during the past two years, dut to his fine attention to details in our financial affairs, statements and budget, IAC is now on a firm financial footing thanks, in part, to his work. Without strong financial standing, IAC would not be able to accomplish what it does today. Because of his position as Treasurer Bob is also active in many other organizational endeavors including; membership, merchandising, program administration and interaction with appropriate EAA support functions are areas he is routinely involved with. True to the spirit of the award, Bob's spirit and enthusiasm for aerobatics and the aerobatic community are truly remarkable.


Robert L. Heuer Award for Judging Excellence - Marty Flournoy, Columbus, GA

Marty has been a judge at the FAI World Aerobatic Championships in both Advanced and Unlimited category since 2014. He will be serving on the board of judges again this year at the 29th FAI World Aerobatic Championships in South Africa in September 2017. Prior to those events, he has also spent time working with US team pilots at the training camps prior to the competition. Very active in IAC regional competitions as well Marty judged 212 contest flights in 2016 including various categories at the U.S. National Aerobatic Championships. He also flies an MX-2 in the Advanced category and has been a member of the IAC since 1996.



Curtis Pitts Memorial Trophy - Frank Christensen, Wilson, Wyoming

As the founder and president of Christen Industries, Frank Christensen is principally noted for his introduction of the Christen Eagle II to the sport aviation market in 1977. The Eagle is a kit-built airplane with the most complete kits and instructions manuals ever produced. The Eagle kits became the "gold standard" for the amateur-guilt aircraft market. This two-place aerobatic biplane is now an icon in the sport flying world and also sports one of the most beautiful paint schemes ever designed. In addtiion to the Eagle, Frank's company also produced other products for the sport aviation community including his well-known inverted oil system which is now a standard feature of most aerobatic aircraft engines. Frank also flew in Advanced category and served as team manager of the 1972 US Aerobatic Team. The team, under his management, went on to win the Aresti Cup and Nesterov Trophies.